got sheep (640x632)So, they say in real estate that location is everything. But I never thought that was important in Art. Turns out that after I moved from a very remote location to a more central location, my open studio experience changed dramatically.

I had always had a steady number of people come to my twice yearly open studio sale, but when we moved into a more central location, my numbers doubled and so did my sales. It was quite a surprise, I guess I had figured that most of the people in the area had seen my work, but that was clearly not the case. Most of the sales I made at the new location were from people who had never been to my studio before.

This experience just reminds me of how important it is to use the same criteria in picking your outside shows venues and the galleries you choose to show in. A nice gallery that gets no walk-ins because it is located in an awkward place is not doing you any good. Likewise a show that has not done its job of advertising and promoting might also be a waste of your time. All of these outside things eat up your art making time. The prep work for a show or gallery, the transport and time spent at the booth or a reception are not reimbursed if you don’t sell any art, so pick wisely so you can Keep Making Art.

